IT in Ukraine: from ideas to businesses
21
September
2018

Statistics and my personal experience show that Ukraine is full of IT professionals and engineers. And they have got a stack of ideas.

But how many of them are willing to turn their ideas into real businesses or sell a commercial product? Not so many. And how many of them have the necessary skills and are ready to run commercial projects out from Ukraine? Even fewer.

We invest in projects both in Ukraine and abroad. And I would definitely prefer to invest more in Ukraine. However, investing is not just about an idea – business chooses to invest in another prospective business. We are dealing with a great disparity between worthy ideas and the commitment to pursue them in Ukraine, creating added value right here.

I am in no position to define the extent to which the government should stimulate the development of IT-entrepreneurship but we believe in the cumulative effect created by the big (and not that big) initiatives coming from policymakers, education sphere and, of course, business.

Young entrepreneurs and those who are on their way to becoming ones should be aware of the interest investors have in Ukraine and Ukrainian projects. Moreover, there is no lack in the capital for investment.

Our CIG R&D Lab pilot program launched together with the Odessa National Polytechnic University was a challenge for students, Ph.D. students, and their supervisors. It’s not just academic excellence scholarships but a significant support from mentors, tailored to each team and project. By the end of the program, the winner does not get money just to chill out – but to keep working on their project with the help of our experts.

We now have the winner of the pilot season and we are very satisfied with the progress of other teams. Given the mentioned disparity issue, this initiative needs to be scaled up. We are starting a new season and are going to invite some more technical universities to cooperate.

The only commitment the winning teams have to us is to work on and develop their projects. CIG R&D Lab is by no means a charity. There is a simple and pragmatic goal in it- to contribute to building a culture of the start-up entrepreneurs who plan their work with a long-term view as opposed to outsourcing work for a couple of years. Which means even more Ukrainian projects available for our investments after a while.

https://blogs.korrespondent.net/blog/business/4013...

Thank you, the message has been sent

Thank you, the message has been sent

thanks_popup-news

IT в Украине: от идей до бизнесов
21
сентября
2018

Статистика и личный опыт показывает, что IT-специалистов и инженеров в Украине много. И идей у них много.

Но сколько из них готовы воплощать свои идеи в бизнесы или продавать их как коммерческий продукт? Меньше. У скольких из них есть навыки по коммерциализации собственных идей? Еще меньше. Сколько готовы основывать и управлять своими коммерческими проектами из Украины? И того меньше.

Мы инвестируем в проекты как в Украине, так и за ее пределами. И хотелось бы больше инвестировать в Украине. Но бизнес инвестирует не просто в идею, бизнес инвестирует в другой бизнес. Мы столкнулись с большой диспропорцией между хорошими идеями и готовностью их реализовывать в Украине, создавая добавленную стоимость именно здесь.

Не берусь сказать, насколько масштабная должна быть роль государства в стимулировании бизнесов в сфере IT. Но мы верим в кумулятивный эффект больших и не очень инициатив, которые должны взять на себя policy makers, образование и, конечно же, бизнес.

Молодые предприниматели и те, кто собирается ними стать, должны знать, что интерес инвесторов к Украине и украинским проектам есть. Капитал для инвестиций тоже есть. К их идеям и стремлениям нужно только добавить навыки.

Наша программа CIG R&D Lab, «пилот» которой был запущен с Одесским национальным политехническим университетом, была не самой простой для студентов, аспирантов и научных руководителей. Это не просто стипендии за хорошие оценки, это стипендии в течение сезона и большая менторская поддержка, адаптированная под каждую команду и проект. В финале победитель получает финансирование не для того, чтобы расслабиться, а для того, чтобы работать дальше с нашей экспертной помощью.

У нас есть победитель «пилотного» сезона, и мы очень довольны прогрессом других команд. Но учитывая проблему диспропорции, эту инициативу необходимо масштабировать. Мы начинаем новый сезон и собираемся пригласить к сотрудничеству еще несколько технических университетов.

У команд-победителей перед нами нет никаких обязательств, кроме одного – работать и развивать свои проекты. Это ни в коем случае не благотворительность. В этом есть простая и прагматичная цель – сделать свой вклад в формирование культуры начинающих предпринимателей, планирующих свою работу на долгую перспективу, а не на несколько лет аутсорса. А это означает еще больше проектов в Украине, в которые мы сможем инвестировать со временем.

https://blogs.korrespondent.net/blog/business/4013...

Спасибо, сообщение отправлено

Спасибо, сообщение отправлено

thanks_popup-news