Stepan Chernovetskyi shared his views on Ukrainian IT market with the Austrian Trend.
22
August
2018

Stepan Chernovetskyi shared his views on the Ukrainian IT market and its potential with Trend., a well-known business journal in Austria.

”It was great to use this opportunity and promote Ukraine in Austria as a tech country with a significant potential,” said Stepan. Such promotion is a part of what he calls “IT-patriotism.”

His interview was published in a special issue focused on start-up businesses and global IT trends.

Please see below the full text of Stepan’s interview and its translation.

New Start-ups in Ukraine

Until recently, well-educated IT specialists from Ukraine were moving abroad. Now, they create work for themselves. The domestic market is large.

Following the thriving Baltic region, Ukraine has also experienced significant shifts in the recent years: international corporations, such as Oracle or Microsoft, create their back-offices here, and highly qualified Ukrainian IT professionals are sought after all over the world. At the beginning of the year, Amazon paid USD 1 billion to home-provider Ring, which operates its largest technical center in Ukraine.

Slowly, but surely develops the scene in Ukraine as well. Only in the last year, the volume of investments in this area has tripled. Grammarly, whose Ukrainian founder, as well as of Robo Wunderkind (see page 14), studied in Vienna, raised USD 110 million last year. The Vienna Agency for Entrepreneurship recently sponsored Cardiomo for two months in Vienna. Cardiomo is a Ukrainian-American start-up that monitors health data through a portable device and gives an alarm in case of an emergency, using artificial intelligence.

Investor. Stepan Chernovetskyi from Ukraine is one of the largest investors in technologies in Eastern Europe.

"The opportunities that Ukraine offers in the technological sector are underestimated," says Stepan Chernovetskyi. With his Chernovetskyi Investment Group (CIG), the son of the former mayor of Kyiv is one of the largest investors in Eastern Europe. The group is worth appx. USD 750 million, 70% of its investments are made in Ukraine, and it is also looking for the projects in Austria. The largest of its investments is zakaz.ua – an online food delivery service that delivers to the customers’ homes goods from the retail chains, such as Metro and Auchan. It is expected that in 2018, 400,000 customers will make regular orders. "Patented software shows products in 3D," says Chernovetskyi. The international chains are willing to use this software. CIG participates in the oother projects in the field of e-commerce, such as recommendation system Softcube or Eda.ua, the Ukrainian Foodora. "43 million people live here, the potential is very high," says the investor. Nevertheless, Ukraine is seen by many as a country of crisis. In the East, war is still going on, corruption is also a topic. However, the government has finally taken significant steps here.

Prospective market. Recently, Ukraine has presented successful start-ups, like Cardiomo, at the international level.

Thank you, the message has been sent

Thank you, the message has been sent

thanks_popup-news

Степан Черновецкий рассказал об IT рынке Украины австрийскому изданию Trend.
22
августа
2018

Степан Черновецкий рассказал об IT рынке Украины журналу Trend., известному деловому изданию в Австрии.

«Я был рад воспользоваться возможностью рассказать в Австрии об Украине как о технологическом рынке и о нашем потенциале», — отметил Степан. Это является частью того, что он называет «IT-патриотизмом».

Его интервью было включено в специальный выпуск, посвященный стартап бизнесам и глобальным IT-тенденциям.

Ниже — полный текст и перевод интервью Степана.

Новые стартапы в Украине

До недавнего времени хорошо образованные IТ-специалисты из Украины переезжали за границу. Теперь они сами создают себе работу. Внутренний рынок большой.

Вслед за развивающимся прибалтийским регионом, Украина в последние годы также претерпела значительные изменения: международные корпорации, такие как Oracle или Microsoft, создают здесь свои бэк-офисы, а высококвалифицированные украинские IТ-специалисты востребованы по всему миру. В начале года Amazon заплатила 1 миллиард долларов за систему для домов Ring, крупнейший технический центр которой находится в Украине.

Медленно, но верно развивается рынок и в самой Украине. Только за последний год объем инвестиций в этой области утроился. Grammarly, украинский основатель которого, так же, как и Robo Wunderkind (см. стр. 14), учился в Вене, в прошлом году собрал 110 миллионов долларов. Венское агентство по вопросам предпринимательства недавно в течение двух месяцев в Вене спонсировало Cardiomo. Cardiomo – украинско-американский стартап, который благодаря искусственному интеллекту контролирует данные о здоровье через портативное устройство и даёт тревожный сигнал в случае чрезвычайной ситуации.

Инвестор. Степан Черновецкий из Украины является одним из самых крупных инвесторов в сфере технологий в Восточной Европе.

«Возможности, которые Украина предлагает в технологическом секторе, недооценены», – говорит Степан Черновецкий. Во главе Chernovetskyi Investment Group (CIG) сын бывшего мэра Киева является одним из крупнейших инвесторов в Восточной Европе. Инвестиционный потенциал фонда составляет около 750 миллионов долларов США, 70 % инвестиций сделаны в Украине, и компания также ищет проекты в Австрии. Самой крупной инвестицией фонда является zakaz.ua – онлайн-служба доставки еды, которая развозит на дом товары из торговых сетей, таких как Метро и Ашан. Ожидается, что в 2018 году будут поступать регулярные заказы от 400 000 клиентов. «Запатентованное программное обеспечение показывает продукты в 3D», – рассказывает Степан Черновецкий. Международные сети хотят освоить это программное обеспечение. CIG участвует и в других проектах в сфере электронной коммерции, таких как система рекомендаций Softcube или Eda.ua – украинская Foodora. «Здесь живет 43 миллиона человек, потенциал очень велик», – говорит инвестор. Тем не менее, Украина рассматривается многими как страна кризиса. На Востоке все еще царит война, существует фактор коррупции. Но здесь правительство наконец предприняло значительные меры.

Перспективный рынок. Недавно Украина представила успешные стартапы, такие как Cardiomo, на международном уровне.

Спасибо, сообщение отправлено

Спасибо, сообщение отправлено

thanks_popup-news